Settled 1628 - Incorporated 1643

Essex was incorporated as a County on 10 May 1643, when it was ordered "that the whole plantation within this jurisdiction be divided into four sheires".

Middlesex - Charlestown , Cambridge, Watertown, Sudbury, Concord, Woburn, Medford, Lynn Village

Suffolk - Boston, Roxbury, Dorchester, Dedham, Braintree, Weymouth, Hingham, Nantucket

Norfolk - Salisbury, Hampton, Haverhill, Exeter, Dover, Strawberry Bank

Essex Shire - Salem, Lynn, Enon, Ipswich, Rowley, Newbury, Gloucester and Cochichewic.

These, of course, were at that time all incorporated towns in the Massachusetts Colony. In the shire of Essex, Salem was incorporated 24 June 1629, as a town, and 23 March 1836, as a city; Lynn, in November 1637, as a town, and 10 April 1850, as a city; Enon (afterwards Wenham), was incorporated 10 May 1643; Ipswich, 5 August 1634; Rowley, 4 September 1639; Newbury, 6 May 1635; Gloucester, 22 May 1639, as a town, and 26 May 1871, as a city; and Chochicawick (afterwards Andover), 6 May 1646, after the incorporation of Essex County, 2 July opened at City Of Enon ( After Vancover )

Please feel free to look around the site and should you need anything you can contact the county coordinators, Michelle Wilkins Cook and Jodi Salerno by going to the contact us page. We will do our best to help in any way we can. Happy hunting .